That Time of Year

Okay, so I went and fell into the void that is December. But in my defense, it’s pretty easy to do. I had a comparatively small number of Christmas obligations, but even so I found my time quickly devoured, what with the gift knitting, party attendance and miscellaneous end-of-year tasks. It was a great month though; plenty of fun, with the people I love best in the world, which is really what it’s all about.

I probably did a little less gift knitting than usual, for a number of reasons. For a start, my father went adventuring in cold regions a month or so back, so I’d only just made him a hat and scarf. And to be honest, none of my nearest and dearest really go in for knits, or for warm accessories. I love knitting for people, but I’m really more concerned with giving people gifts that they actually enjoy. I don’t exchange presents with that many people, so when I do, I like to do it properly, and the fact remains that regardless of the fact that I like to knit, not everyone wants knitted things, or not the people I know at any rate!

That’s not to say that this Christmas was knit-less. For a couple of gifts, I made knitted covers for glass jars and filled them with fun bits and pieces (okay, so sometimes it was cranes but shut up, that’s why!). Knitting the jar covers was more fun than you’d expect; because it was small scale, you could knit them fairly quickly, but still experiment. To be honest, I have no idea whether covered jars are practical, but it was fun!

P1060650

For another gift, I also made a second Dubious Victory scarf, this time in heavier yarn (to ensure I was able to finish in time!). I’m quite pleased with how it came out, and it consumed some yarn I’d had kicking around for approximately forever, so I was double satisfied (see below chin, sprouting grand zits of satisfaction!).

P1060688

Christmas Day itself I spent with family, eating far too much food. On Boxing Day the Boy and I took a trip out to visit his mother in Warburton. The area is far too lovely, so it gets a post all of its own. Pictures to follow!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

