Better Living Through Spinning and Stash Management

As mentioned last post, I bought some spinning fibre at Bendigo a few weeks ago. While it wasn’t that much – only a couple of hundred grams – it’s still more than my sporadic-at-best spinning habit really warrants. To say that I felt guilty about buying more spinning fibre when I already had a stockpile would not be entirely correct; I’m with Nigella Lawson when she says that you should never feel guilty about something that brings you pleasure! However, I’m happy to concede that if I’m starting to buy more fibre, I should really start spinning more to accommodate. As such, I’ve divided my crafting focus and have been spinning like a girl possessed. It’s actually been a fairly easy change to make. One of the reason I don’t knit more often is that sometimes I just want something simple to work on while I do something else, and I can’t be bothered to start a new project because it requires thought and decisiveness that isn’t really available at the time. But it’s perfectly easy to sit down and start spinning while watching yet another episode of Breaking Bad.

Pre-Bendigo, I’d been part-way through spinning some lovely fibre from Two If By Hand, spinning a little bit here, a little bit there, and taking months to finish. I decided that it was about time that I invested some serious effort; I did so, plied the results, and now have a happy skein of something vaguely resembling yarn.

My handspinning still leaves a little to be desired. But thankfully I do seem to be improving with practice. I’m not entirely sure what I’m going to do with this skein – while the colours are lovely, they’re not shades that I wear very often  – but I’ve had fun musing over it. Currently I’m pondering the possibility of mixing it with a grey yarn and doing something stripey. We shall see.

Taking a brief holiday from hand dyed lovelies, I’ve also spun up some of my Bendy fibre. I bought two 50g bags of natural coloured fibre from Karoa Fibres, in a light grey-brown and a darker, chocolately brown. No danger of it languishing in the stash if I use it right away, right?

Plus, it was a pleasure to spin. The other night I sat on the couch to do some spinning and went to select something to watch while I worked. For some reason, I found myself sitting down in front of The Land Before Time (I am a child of the 80s, don’t judge), and I accidentally watched the whole film because I was so engrossed in spinning.

This is an approach that I’m trying to take more and more these days. No, not dinosaur cartoons. Okay, dinosaur cartoons, but the point is that I’m trying to use things as I buy them.  I’ve been working on whittling away at my stash, and I’m constantly confronted by the problem that over time, my tastes have changed, and I own yarns that I’m not nearly as enamoured with now as I was when they were purchased. This isn’t the end of the world – I need to get my gift/charity knitting done with something, after all – but it’s still far from ideal. So let’s see if I can mend my wicked ways. I’m trying, at any rate.

In other news, this attempt at regular blogging was brought to you by Anna’s sick day. I’m off work today because this morning I found out that I have… shingles. Super glamorous and sexy ailment, I know! Especially with the stabbing pain and the beguiling rash currently making its way along my ribs. At least I’m not as bad as all of the people on Google image search (though this is possibly the worst consolation ever). And now I have an excuse for bra-free crafting. Pffft, like you need an excuse!

Despite my usual annoying tendency to be determined that everyone else suffer alongside me, I’m not going to subject you all to pictures of my shingles. Instead, here’s a picture of the cupcakes I made on the weekend. Cherry and vanilla. Kind of pointless, but better than the alternative, right?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Better Living Through Spinning and Stash Management

  1. Melanie says:

    Really beautiful spinning! Hope you feel better soon.

    P.S. It is nice to be able to indulge in your hobby when you’re ill though isn’t it? 😉

    • Anna says:

      So nice! Seriously, it is immensely useful to take my mind off of things. Pain is so much easier to manage when you can get engrossed in something else!

  2. Cadence says:

    I’m so sorry that you have shingles! My fiance had shingles on his ribs a few years ago–I know they’re painful, I’ll be thinking of you. In happier news, I understand what you mean about your tastes changing in terms of your stash. I have lots of yarns now that I wish I hadn’t stocked up on when I was a younger, more impulsive knitter. I’m a semi-solid gal, but I have lots of variegated things that I have to find a use for.

Leave a Reply

