Miscellany

Long time no blog. How embarrassing!

I’d be a little more sheepish about it, but the truth is that I’ve just been so busy that there’s been very little time for a lot of my usual recreational pursuits, blogging included. Working a new job – working a few, in fact – and trying to keep up some semblance of a social life has not left me much change from my days lately. But of course the truth of the matter is that it’s rarely that you don’t actually have time to do things; it’s that you don’t make the time to do them. So here I am, blogging away. Go me!

I’ve been doing quite a lot of knitting over the last few weeks, but sadly not a lot that’s very interesting to read about. I’ve been doing some basic charity knitting, I’ve been making a shawl for a friend, and so on. Satisfies my desire to get something done while I’m watching Game of Thrones or sitting through a seemingly endless cut-scene in a computer game, but it’s just not very interesting to blog about your garter stitch scarf. As mentioned last post, however, I did (not so) recently complete a project that, somewhat unexpectedly, pleased me greatly.

Won’t post the usual details about the precise specifications, because frankly, I can’t really remember. All you really need to know is that there was a spare skein or so of Patons Shadow Tweed kicking around in my stash that I really wanted to get rid of (my current, possibly overly simplistic style of stashbusting is to try and get rid of lingering bulky yarn, since I can knit it up comparatively quickly). I thought that the colours might look nice in moss stitch, so I cast a random number of stitches onto my circular needs and knitted moss stitch in the round until I ran out of yarn. Mischief managed. I’m actually really happy with the end product. I was rather unwhelmed by the yarn originally and only really picked it up so I could oust it from my stash. But I actually really love the scarf; it’s warm, goes with a lot of my clothes, and I’ve already worn it quite a few times.

Sometimes I really do think that my favourite projects are the small ones that delight me unexpectedly, even more so than the long hauls towards results I know will be awesome (though they are obviously not without their charms).

In other news, the weather has turned cold and I have been loving my snuggly brown jumper. It’s super warm and pulling it on when I get home from work makes me far happier than donning knitwear should. It’s turned out to be one of those knits that doesn’t really excite you at first, but grows on you until you never really want to take it off.

Oh, and like I wasn’t busy enough already, I’ve been doing a ceramics short course at Northcote Pottery Supplies. I signed up with a friend and so far I am very much enjoying it. I used to do something similar on the weekends when I was a kid and it’s lovely to be working with clay again. I’ve always been kind of mediocre at drawing, but I enjoy working with my hands a lot more, and I do seem to be a little better at it. I was atrocious at using the wheel for a while, but now I’ve really turned a corner (and by a corner I mean a pot. Or four) and am making things that actually look like bowls. I’ve also made some things that are ugly as all get out (failed experiments, glazing accidents, poorly thought out to begin with, etc) but I’m happy to use and love them because I learned from making them. Yay for progress.

I can’t make any promises, since I’m currently without a functioning camera, but hopefully it won’t be nearly as long until the next post. If nothing else, I’m sure I’ll be subjecting you all to bad photos of uneven earthenware in the near future. Tremble with anticipation, dear blogosphere.

This entry was posted in finished object, miscellaneous craft, scarf, stash diving, Uncategorized, weather and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Miscellany

  1. Tracy Rice says:

    my adult things generally only make it to the planning stage… maybe i’ll do one at a time… but then once they are actually done they are so far behind that it doesn’t even really feel like an accomplishment… so i just sit around waiting for my hyperbole and a half posts to cheer me up. so KUDOS! you’re way ahead of me. and p.s. i’d kill for some nachos right now.

Leave a Reply

