Finished Object: Second Time Around

Just to make sure that I’ve entirely broken the drought of finished object posts, here is my second in a row! Nice to know the resolution I made to finish my ongoing projects didn’t turn out like my resolution to go running every other day. I think that one got buried under a pile of empty garlic bagel chip packages. Because you need sustenance when you start playing that seventeenth Starcraft II match. *nods sagely*

Erm. I made a cardigan? And it’s good?

Pattern: Incredible Custom Fit Raglan by Pamela Costello. Yes, again.

Yarn: Berroco Ultra Alpaca Fine (1 skein) and Rowan RYC Cashsoft 4ply (2 balls).

Needles: 4.5mm circulars and 4.5mm double points

Anna goes on and on and on: This is not a particularly interesting cardigan. Top down raglan, six row stripes, garter edgings. Pretty basic. But like so many comparatively monotonous knits, I’m very pleased with the finished product.

There were quite a few moments along the way when it felt like it was never going to end. I think most of them occurred while I was knitting the first sleeve. I forgot to bring my double pointed needles on holidays with me and the circular needle that I did have did not make for very good magic looping. So the first sleeve dragged. I mean sure, I could have worked it flat. But seaming stripes? Grumble-mumble-overmyrancidrottingcorpse-grumble-mumble. So I grudgingly looped away. But then I arrived home, was reunited with my 4.5mm dpns and my Rome DVDs and tackled the second sleeve with alacrity. A couple of nights later and it was done. I haven’t sewn the buttons on yet because I wanted instant photographic gratification, but I’ll do it soon, I swear! That said, in this weather it’s perfectly wearable as is. Yeah, that’s a servicable excuse.

In summary: super pleased with this one. In other news, house-sitting got pushed back a week, but I am now happily enconsced in a cosy little townhouse on the other side of the city, nursing a cup of tea and lavishing attention on the cats. Oh. My. Yes.

As for my knitting deadline, well, that’s a tricky question. I finished my scarf before coming here; I’ll post about it in a day or so. However, I still haven’t finished the second sleeve of one of my cardigans. So strictly speaking I did not meet my goal. HOWEVER, during the week I did rattle off an impromptu gift for the cute wee baby of the friends for whom I am house-sitting. Hey, they’re moving somewhere cold; baby will need warm things, right? And by midweek I had a medical need for Malabrigo comfort knitting in front of too many episodes of Archer. Knitting a baby pullover was clearly the only sensible course of action. So while I didn’t meet my WIP-purge goals, I did complete an entire extra item, so I’m going to call it a satisfactory outcome. Cardigan has waited this long; it can wait another few days. I just hope these aren’t famous last words…

This entry was posted in cardigan, finished object, plans, resolutions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finished Object: Second Time Around

  1. Sonia Knits says:

    I love the cardi! And … don’t talk to me about seaming stripes, Tempest I’m looking at you… grrr

Leave a Reply

