Finished Object: Degenerate Tea Drinker

Wow, it’s been a good while since I’ve written a finished object post. How shameful! But that’s what the WIP purge is all about, I suppose: finally finishing these things so I can take some photos in which my face is curiously absent, and then post them accompanied by repetitive blather!

So yes, finished my pullover. The bad part is that I put off finishing this for far too long. The up side is that I’ve finished it just in time for some cooler weather, so now it gets worn sooner rather than later!

Pattern: Incredible Custom Fit Raglan by Pamela Costello. You are going to see me linking this one a lot over the next few weeks. Because it’s basically awesome.

Yarn: Cascade Dolce (alpaca/silk/wool blend)

Needles: 4.5 mm circular and dpns.

Commentary: This is not the first time I’ve knitted from this pattern. Nor is is the last (my other half-finished cardigans also used this formula). It’s a pretty great pattern generator and it’s always given me consistently good results. It’s now my go-to when I just want a basic top-down pullover pattern so that I can rot my brain with endless stockingette stitch.

I added waist shaping (as always) and worked 2×2 ribbing for the hem, cuffs and neckline. I opted for some positive ease as I’m intending it to be a layering garment that I can throw on on those mornings when it’s cold and I want to slob around the house and drink endless cups of tea in front of the computer. The result is very comfortable. The yarn is lovely too. There’s a very slight tickle from the alpaca, but nothing bothersome, and its more than made up for by the fact that it’s super warm and has a lovely sheen from the silk content.

And a fun fact: this is now an exceedingly well travelled pullover. Most of the knitting was done in Melbourne, but I finished one of the sleeves in Shanghai and then lugged the rest of it all over Scandinavia while I procrastinated working the neckline and knit my Ginkgo Shawl instead. Whoops. But it’s done now, and that’s the main thing, right?

Oh, and the name? It’s a bit silly really. It’s named after this delightful tea receptacle, which came into existence when I discovered ceramic markers and cheap mugs at Spotlight. I guess it’s a reference to the fact that I know far too many coffee wankers and am moronically defensive about the fact that I only drink tea. As I said, a bit silly!

Apparently silliness and caffeine go well together?

In other news, my housewarming plans have changed slightly but I’ve still been knitting away like a girl possessed. I’ve finished the fingering weight stripey cardigan I was working on and I’m extremely happy with the results (to be blogged properly in the next few days). Now I’m working away busily on my scarf. I had to do a little bit of unexpected surgery, but it all went smoothly and now I am picking up endless stitches for the edging. Wish me luck in keeping my sanity for the duration!

This entry was posted in finished object, pullover, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Finished Object: Degenerate Tea Drinker

  1. knitickyboo says:

    but your ginko is lovely so it’s all good
    and i LOVE that mug 🙂
    and the jumper is great! noticed the link from your stripey cardi on rav and will DEFINITELY be using it. maybe i’ll have to pick up some rowan at liberty and just go with it?
    (great recipe for handspun too if i ever do enough of one colour)

  2. Melanie says:

    Yay! Hurrah for tea drinkers!
    Love the mug and the jumper, I have bought that pattern/recipe and one day I shall knit it and probably wonder why I haven’t knit a jumper using it before. Hey ho!

  3. Pingback: Miscellany |

Leave a Reply

