Finished Object: Ginkgo Shawl

To begin, I would just like to say that I have a great amount of difficulty spelling the word ‘ginkgo’ correctly. I keep wanting to write it as ‘gingko’. Anna, you fool!

It’s probably quite fitting that I ended up knitting this shawl while I was travelling; I remember being particularly enamoured with a ginkgo tree I encountered in a park in Copenhagen (the tree with the gorgeous yellow foliage pictured a couple of posts back). I’m sad to say that this connection didn’t actually dawn on me until I started writing this post, but at least I got there eventually, right? No. Oh well, here’s a picture anyway.

Pattern: Ginkgo Shawl by Maggie Magali

Yarn: Sanguine Gryphon Eidos (Parmenides colourway)

Needles: 4mm circular

Blather: Firstly, in hindsight I should have made this larger. I haven’t bothered to weigh the remnants of the skein, but I probably could have made it bigger than the size detailed in the pattern. But alas, I was on the road and didn’t have access to scales to tell me how I was travelling (no pun intended) as far as yardage went. Such is life. However, I’m still happy with the end product and it’s easily large enough to wear wrapped around my neck, which is the way I generally wear triangle shawls anyway.

The pattern was easy to understand and fun to knit. It was perfect for the long train trips that took me from city to city on my holiday. The stockinette portion was great for the times when you wanted to stare out the window with some music playing, just watching the countryside (or, all too often, the inside of a tunnel). The lace pattern was easy enough to memorise as you were working each row, but as the lace was worked on both the right and wrong sides of the shawl the final sections were pleasantly absorbing. The yarn was lovely as well; a gorgeous colour, as you would expect from Sanguine Gryphon, and just variegated enough to be interesting without obscuring the lace pattern.

The shawl was actually more or less the only holiday knitting I did, which is a little shameful considering how long I was away, but I felt far too dodgy to knit during the latter part and during the earlier stages the knitting was competing with some pretty compelling reading material. I suppose I’ll just have to spend the next month make up for my lack of diligence.

On that note, in a couple of days am shooting through on my usual New South Wales pilgrimage, so stay tuned for the usual brand of holiday/beach posts. This year, just for a change and to break up the long drive, we are travelling north via Jindabyne and Kosciuszko National Park (for my overseas readers, Mt Kosciuszko is the highest mountain in Australia and though it can’t really compete with its overseas cousins in terms of height, it’s surrounded by gorgeous countryside), so hopefully I’ll have some lovely photos to post in the near future.  Stay tuned!

And finally, today is December 25th, so happy this-time-of-year to everyone! As a vegetarian who is not religiously inclined and usually does her level best to avoid frenzied consumerism, I’m not really a huge devotee of the conventional ways of celebrating Christmas, but I do adore getting together with the people I love for food and conversation, and I do very much enjoy giving people gifts, so I’ve been doing a lot of both over the last few days. I just finished making a paneer curry, which along with berry, grapefruit and yoghurt and fresh ginger cakes will be my contribution to today’s lunch. But cooking is (obviously) only one way to celebrate. Whoever you are and whatever this time of year means to you, I hope that you and your loved ones enjoy yourselves heartily!

This entry was posted in crescent head, finished object, green, holiday, sanguine gryphon, shawl, Uncategorized, wanderings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finished Object: Ginkgo Shawl

  1. Pingback: Finished Object: Degenerate Tea Drinker |

Leave a Reply

