Mature Adulthood

Hello blog! I would like to announce that I am madly in love. Or lust. One of the two, or a bit of both. What can I say, but stash-diving is a wonderful thing. Over a year ago now I bought a skein of Sanguine Gryphon Klee, because I have a wee bit of a thing for silk. I received it, spent a bit of time wiping up the excessive saliva, but didn’t really know what to do with something so beautiful. It lived on my desk for a few months, being patted and admired and thrust at confused friends. Yesterday I picked it up and, on a whim, started on a wee swatch, just to get an idea of what it looked like knitting up. I swear, I nearly died.

*drools* I don’t even particularly like variegated yarn BUT WOULD YOU JUST LOOK AT IT. I MEAN, LOOK AT IT. It’s like an oil painting in yarn form. Anyway, I am now completely swatch-drunk and need to figure out what to do with my new love. This will be tricky for several reasons. Firstly, I have a complete phobia of pooling. Don’t like it, or not in 95% of cases at any rate. Secondly, I only have one skein of this beauty. One skein is not a lot. Currently, the plan is to pair it with a very neutral yarn as a border, but I am still hammering out the details. And what fun it will be!

In other news: I am a grown-up. I have proof! Twofold proof!

Firstly, I went to a baby shower (for the recipient of this cardigan). Surely this is a thing that grown-up people do, correct?

Second: I am learning to admit defeat. I am no perfectionist. Never have been. So when I’m knitting something and it’s not quite right, it’s all too easy for me to shrug and keep on going, only to end up with an underwhelming finished object that I subsequently never wear. It’s a habit I’ve been trying to address over the last year or so and I think I’m finally beginning to make progress. I have abandoned not one, but two projects over the last fortnight!

The first was a Niobe pullover that I started a few weeks back. I think this is a lovely pattern, but it just wasn’t working with the yarn I was using. I finished the first sleeve, blocked it and decided that I was underwhelmed. So the sleeve will be frogged and the yarn paired with some tasty Noro instead (hardly a fate worse than death). The second project was a stripey raglan cardigan. The two yarns were working together well enough; it was my maths that let me down. Once I slipped the thing onto waste yarn it became abundantly clear that the back was far too wide at the cast-on edge. It would have sagged something dreadful if I’d persisted. I was irked about having to restart this one; sacrificing several hours worth of work on fingering weight yarn is a little galling. But I love the way that the stripes are working and at least this way I’ll end up with a garment that thrills me. Sigh.

There is good news though. I bought some dirt cheap yarn online the other day and now it has arrived, so while I’m currently without a work in progress, I don’t foresee this being a long-term problem. Mmmm, brown (shown with leaf for extra wank-factor!)

In closing, I made more pasta salad with roast tomato, onion and garlic, so now I have lunch for tomorrow. Again, I am a grown-up. So I suppose it’s threefold proof. Delicious, threefold proof. Om nom nom.

Next post: in which Anna comes clean about her travel plans. Hint: I’d better start knitting myself something really warm…

This entry was posted in colour, cooking, designing, food, holiday, lust, resolutions, sanguine gryphon, stash diving, travel, Uncategorized, yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mature Adulthood

  1. Sonia says:

    3 very delicious photos! I don’t envy the pressure to make the perfect project with that yarn… it is amazing and a thing of beauty. I’m asking myself… why not get more?!

  2. Sonia says:

    … thanks for the link to said-yarn website… no really, I need to lust about more yarn to buy…

    Answered my own question… they don’t have Klee anymore, woe is you and now me 🙂

  3. Melanie says:

    Ooh that yarn is deliciousness itself. I look forward to seeing you FO. In the spirit of friendly enabling I should point you to this page… http://www.fyberspates.co.uk/mall/departmentpage.cfm/Fyberspates/_346737/1/Scrumptious%2520DK%2520WORSTED
    A similar yarn, worsted singles, high silk content yarn but in solid colours. Just saying’.
    As for the leaf, I like. It sets off the brown beautifully.
    The travel plans…well now you have me intrigued, cold, yum.

Leave a Reply

