Token weather post

Hello blog! Greetings from a gorgeous, sunny weekend! I’m sure that pretty much every single Melbourne blogger has written about this over the last while, but the weather has finally started to warm up, much to my intense relief. I’ve never really been one for cold weather and it felt like this winter started early and lasted forever, so it’s so indescribably lovely to have some sun again. I spent this afternoon wandering around South Melbourne Market with the boy, followed by a slow meander home, ice-cream in hand, with a brief stop to play on the swings. I will never be too old for swings, especially on days like today. Market trips also mean coming home with delicious things.

Until a few weeks ago I had forgotten about the wonder that is fresh ricotta cheese and tomatoes with basil and olive oil. Especially on a turkish bread roll that, when toasted, goes crunchy on the outside but stays soft and squooshy in the middle. *swoon* Also, I keep having my mind blown by the utter gorgeousness of blood oranges. I relentlessly hacked a few to pieces the other day while making this cake and was absolutely blown away by the beauty of the colours; like stained glass in fruit form.

In between feasts, I’ve also been doing a fair bit of knitting. Feel I’m getting my mojo back which is, frankly, fantastic. I finished the cardigan I was knitting for a pregnant friend’s upcoming sprog:

Man, do I love Noro. And stripes. My earlier love affair has been rekindled. The more I consider it, the more I think that stripes are really the way to go with Noro. I love their yarns fiercely, but on their own they can be a little intense. Breaking up the colour changes with a neutral colour tamps it down a bit, without detracting from the beauty of the colours. Then again, it’s entirely possible that I just love stripes…

(oh, so this doesn’t completely fail at being a finished-object post, the pattern for this cute wee thing is the Scrappy Socky Stripey Cardigan. I used about 2/3 of a ball of Patonyle and probably about 1/5 ball of Noro Kureyon Sock)

I also cast on for a new pullover. Before finishing my Corona. Shame on me. But I haven’t tackled that cable mess-up yet and I need something non-taxing to knit while I bludge in front of the television with multiple hot beverages like the decadent creature I am. You understand, right?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Token weather post

  1. Pingback: Mature Adulthood |

Leave a Reply

