Scarves and Possums

Urgh. It seems I am still having a little bit of trouble fitting regular blogging into my ever-hectic life. Tsk, Anna, tsk! Currently it’s a bad combination of being stupidly busy and daylight savings having ended; it’s hard to take nice photos when it’s dark before I get off work and when I don’t have nice photos, it’s hard to convince myself to blog. Though since I have a perfectly serviceable weekend come along, erm, once a week actually, this really isn’t an excuse.

So, what have I been up to? Working and attempting to maintain a social life mostly. But there have been some crafty undertakings. I’ve been knitting away on my never-ending pullover. It’s not even never-ending, really. I could probably finish it with an hour or so of solid knitting (it’s finding the free hour or so that’s the problem, currently). Hopefully it’ll come off the needles sometime in the next week and come next weekend there will be photos! In the mean time, a couple of weeks ago I finished the scarf I was knitting for the former-boyfriend. Ta da!

Pattern: One Row Handspun Scarf by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee.

Yarn: Malabrigo Worsted, 1.7 skeins in ‘Blue Graphite’

Needles: 5.5mm bamboo straights

Raaaaamble: There’s not really a lot to say about this one, since it’s a scarf and a pretty basic one at that. This is a great pattern though; stupidly easy to memorise and the stitch pattern comes out looking surprisingly lovely for the small amount of effort that you put into it. The Malabrigo is, of course, gorgeous. But we all knew that already. As mentioned earlier, I actually finished this several weeks ago; I just handed it over to its recipient before I had a chance to take a photo. So this shot was taken after at least a fortnight of wear. Pretty intensive wear. It makes me happy when the things I make get used!

In other news, there was a possum. I feel dreadfully tardy in only blogging about this now, because it happened nearly a month ago, but since I managed to take a photo during proceedings, the event was officially deemed ‘blog-worthy’ and better late than never.

I went walking one chilly Friday night, quite late, and came across a dead possum on the side of the road. Assuming that it had been hit by a car, I went over to inspect it to make sure it wasn’t still alive. It wasn’t. But here in Australia we have weird marsupial-type pouch-having creatures and this unfortunate deceased marsupial-type critter had a baby in its pouch, very much still alive. Of course I couldn’t leave it there by the side of the road – it was a very cold night – so long story short, I ended up possum-sitting for a (somewhat sleepless) evening. I took both mum and baby home in the end so the wee thing could come out on its own (forcibly removing them can be very bad news) and come morning I was confronted with the cutest wee possum ever.

To give you an idea of scale, the rainbow thing is a beanie. My possum-sitting experience was short-lived; the morning came and with it came the nice possum fostering lady. But it was fun while it lasted. And I would have felt guilty for approximately the next 20-35 years if I hadn’t done something for the poor little thing.

And that’s about all we have time for. Apologies for not posting more regularly. I honestly have the best of intentions but work is bending me over and spanking me at the moment; I’m working six days this week and doing more overtime next week. At least it’s keeping me in yarn money, but that’s probably the best that can be said. *sigh* I miss the bountiful amounts of free-time that came with student-dom…

This entry was posted in finished object, scarf, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scarves and Possums

  1. Abby says:

    Wait… possum fostering lady? There are such things??

    That’s a sweet story and *whew* for possum baby that you went to check on its dead mother. If the Buddhists are correct, I’d say you just stocked up on a nice deposit of good karma.

    The scarf is nice even when well-worn. Hard to imagine scarves here now as we’re hitting hot times, but I can’t have a winter without one… or two.. or three…

  2. kgirlknits says:

    you are so good, I have seen dead possums and have not stopped to check for young, to my shame.

    I will now, and thank you for the tip that you don’t remove them from the pouch – I did not know that

Leave a Reply

