Feeling the Love

Because I am currently in between FOs and stuck for a (long overdue!) blog post, here are a few of the things that I am pretty keen on at the moment. I am currently overtired and just at the point where I want to wave my arms in the air and yell “just give it a bloody rest for a bit” in the universe’s general direction; these are the things that are bringing me pleasure in the mean time.

Farmers’ markets: Okay, so these get blogged about all the time. I’m pretty sure that the blogosphere would implode without farmers’ markets. Or at least need a lot more cat pictures to plug the hole. But I digress: I went to the local monthly farmers’ market on the weekend – a victory in itself because I always intend to go but very rarely get around to it – and acquired all manner of treasures. I bought tomatillos! American readers may not be excited by this, but it’s the first time that I’ve seen them available down here and ever since I visited Texas I have been dreaming of their deliciousness.

Tea: Okay, so this is nothing new; I have loved tea for nearly a decade now. But I have a renewed appreciation. You know how sometimes a comparatively mundane, everyday thing becomes wonderful because you experience it when you’re in absolutely the right mood for it? The hot shower after a stressful day at work, the enormous sandwich when you get back in from a long walk, and so on. Normally I am a green tea drinker, but the other day at work I had a cup of black tea with milk and sugar. In the bright, overly air conditioned office, to my poor, worn down mid-afternoon self, it was nothing short of magic. Never to be recreated magic, but I’m still trying! I’m also feeling the love for genmaicha. I tried it last year and then promptly forgot about it, but it’s great when it’s cold outside. There’s a kind of substantial, smoky taste to it that I love.

Screen Printing Ink: Totally awesome fun. I had a plain cotton tank top that I rarely wore even though it was comfortable because it was kind of boring looking. More than that, it was that shade of gray. The tatty-old-tracksuit-that’s-seen-better-days kind of gray. I sunk in an hour or two with some ink and a paintbrush and now I adore it. Good plan!

Buckles: I’ll say this for the benefit of those who haven’t seen me stomping around in my giant, size 11 boots with all their delightfully superfluous metal fastenings. I really like buckles… But I’ve never tried to work them into my knitting. Until now…

Hopefully you’ll get to see the results sooner rather than later… Take care, dear internet!

This entry was posted in bendigo woollen mills, food, introspection, miscellaneous craft, plans, Uncategorized, yarn and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

