Finished Object: Handspun Hat

Yes, I know that I said I would write about my knitting goals for 2011, but I think we could all use a break from my endless craft-related introspection. So to break up the monotony a little, here’s something I made while I was away in New South Wales (you know, between beach trips).

Pattern: Basic improvised super-generic hat pattern (cast on 80 stitches)

Yarn: My handspun (Stranded in Oz merino fibre)

Needle: 5.5mm circular

Ramble time: First thing’s first: this is the first item I’ve made with my own handspun, or at least the first thing that isn’t a swatch. Auspicious occasion, right? Anyway, as the hat is made from my handspun, I am now entitled to delude myself in a self-indulgent manner about said hat being absolutely awesome. Thankfully, the pretense is completely unnecessary. Thankfully, I’m actually very keen on the hat.

It came out just the way that I was hoping it would; variegated without too much crazy pooling, nice and loose but not comically large. I also love the way that the yarn feels knitted up; really plush and squishy.  And if I’m after a slightly different, less slouchy look, I can fold the brim up and wear it that way. All in all, I’m very happy with it. Another bonus: it was quick! I knitted most of it up in an evening, while we all lay around indulging in beer and Scott Pilgrim. All it needed the next morning was for me to work the final few decrease rows and gather it up. Most pleasing!

Also, this is my holiday tan. Stop laughing. Yes, I know it’s not really a tan by anyone else’s standards. At least I didn’t get burnt this year.

This entry was posted in finished object, green, holiday, spinning, travel, yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Finished Object: Handspun Hat

  1. homesickyorkshirelass says:

    Love the hat, lovely the way it shows all those gorgeous green colours, very impressive. I’m working up the courage to knit something with my handspun.

  2. lucette says:

    I am so impressed with your handspun hat. And I would love to see some beach photos too.

  3. Abby says:

    It’s great! Very appropriately Scott Pilgrimish, and I do mean that as a compliment. Ironic fun with the tan.

  4. Pingback: Seasonally Inappropriate |

Leave a Reply

