Bangkok and Phnom Penh

Greetings from Phnom Penh, dear blogosphere!

I believe that I failed to mention that I was planning a holiday. But there you go – I am, undeniably, holidaying. I’m travelling with my family this time, so there’s plenty of company (and someone to take some photos of me from time to time – I’m hardly in any of my shots from my last trip!).

We started off in Thailand a few days ago. We only had one full day in Bangkok before moving on, but we made the most of it. We saw some of the sights, ate lots of delicious food, and rode the water taxi through the canals!

Yesterday we hopped on a plane for a short while, and now we’re in Cambodia (which is, for the record, absolutely gorgeous from the air). Phnom Penh is an amazing city – lots of character, lots of things to see, and amazing food. I spent the morning taking far too many pictures at the Royal Palace.

Afterwards we wandered around some of the main streets, visited some markets, and generally just ambled around taking it all in.

This afternoon I bought a new knitting bag at a cute little shop run by these guys, and found my way into a supermarket sporting a truly intimidating range of liquors, where they seemed to play nothing but Lady Gaga.

Tomorrow we are getting on a bus and heading up to Battembang, where water levels permitting, we will spend the next 6-10 hours on a boat. Stay tuned!

This entry was posted in travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bangkok and Phnom Penh

  1. Abby says:

    I would love to visit that part of the world! I suppose there’s no escaping Lady Gaga.

Leave a Reply

