Socks and Plans

Sock #1 is officially off the needles! It is… very bright. It looks like it was coloured in with cheap markers by an over-enthusiastic child. It makes my enormous foot look even more enormous. When I look at how bright it is, I begin to wonder if I could possibly be hallucinating. These socks are going to be completely ridiculous. In the best way possible, of course.

The Boy Thing has commented that the colour combination makes him imagine Big Bird and Cookie Monster engaging in the kind of intimate act that Sesame Street would probably frown upon. A friend of mine now thinks of this every time she looks at them. Good thing these socks were never intended to be anything other than completely ridiculous.

In other news, it’s been a nice, chilled out kind of weekend. I spent yesterday perusing the Finders Keepers market and having chai adventures with a friend. Today has been a quiet day of working on my assignments (sigh), pottering in the garden and planning future knitterly endeavours. The increasingly high proportion of warm days are reminding me that summer is not too far off, and the time for warm weather knits is nearly here.

This year, as always, I’m going to attempt to actually knit some warm weather clothes in time to wear them -this- summer. I’m currently swatching with some yarn that has been languishing in my stash for nearly as long as I’ve been knitting. Alas, it was purchased back in the days when my tastes were not as discerning, and my budget for craft supplies was next to non-existent. It’s, erm, not particularly nice yarn. I’d be kind and say “rustic” or “unfancy”, but I think those words would be misapplied here. Is there an available euphemism for “cheap and really mediocre”? At any rate, at 50 cents a ball for a 70/30 cotton nylon blend, my earlier self was convinced that I could not go wrong. Let’s see if she was right…

This entry was posted in colour, planning, retina burn, socks, stash diving, summer knits, weather, yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Socks and Plans

  1. Sonia says:

    Love the socks! Big bird and Cookie monster cracks me up!

    Doesn’t everyone still have some yarn from when they first started knitting? I’m still finding the right project for mine!

  2. Abby says:

    Those socks are great! Very Big Bird/Cookie Monster, AND they happen to be the school colors of where my kids go to high school. I should have some to wear to sporting events, thus scarring them for life!

    I’m sure you’ll do something perfect with your absemiously pedestrian yarn.

  3. alyshajane says:

    hehe I love the description about Big Bird and Cookie Monster!
    I think the socks are fab 🙂

    I still have some *whispers* feather yarn, from when I first started knitting! No idea what to do with it. Car duster maybe?

Leave a Reply

