Adventures, Narcissism, and Retina Burn

It’s a glorious spring day outside, and what am I doing? I’m procrastinating on my assignment by updating my blog. Yay me. Though I have every intention of getting my seasonally unappreciative self into the sun later on, once the assignment releases me from its cruel, thorny clutches.

At least I made the most of the second week of my university break.

I spent a few days in Millgrove with the Boyfish. I nearly froze (disclaimer: it was not really that cold, but I am the single most enormous cold wimp to ever set foot in this world), but it was very lovely. We feasted on delicious homemade pies and went for many a wander, as it’s such a beautiful place to walk around. There were crimson rosellas everywhere. I was not complaining.

The remainder of the week was spent catching up with neglected friends, sampling delicious beer, and generally soaking up the sunshine whenever I could get outside into it. And then there was Anna Day. Anna Day came about in 2001 when my narcissistic adolescent self woke up feeling particularly chipper, and decided that from that point onward, October 1st would be my special day. So ever since then, on that date, I’ve made a point of taking time to do nice things and wander around in the spring sunshine, just chilling out. I know it sounds mildly bizarre to celebrate your own special day; many people I know find it mildly eccentric, and I would be the last person to say that they’re wrong! But you know what? I’d recommend it! It’s just like celebrating your birthday, except with no pressure; no pressure to have a good time, organise things, and be the life of the party. It’s just allocating a day to chill out and enjoy yourself. This year I bought my favourite dip and some Turkish bread from Queen Victoria market, poured a glass of wine, grabbed my book, and had an impromptu one-girl picnic in the yard. Also, there may have been a cupcake. Life is rough that way.

Oh, and I may have started painting my own mugs. More on that some other time.

On the knitting front: well, I just wish I had more time! Now that my Mythos is finished, there are so many other things that I want to start, but I just haven’t had the time to sit down and get them going. Perhaps after Monday when my assignment goes in.

Until then, I do at least have one project to work on: the Brightest Socks Ever. My eyes threaten to bleed every time I look at them – it’s wonderful. More on those next time.

Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

This entry was posted in anna day, colour, food, miscellaneous craft, retina burn, socks, wanderings, weather, work in progress. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Adventures, Narcissism, and Retina Burn

  1. Sonia says:

    Love your idea of having your own special day. I once had a friend who moved her entire birthday to a much more milder part of the year, because her original date was in summer. Very sensible I thought.

    The socks look pretty crazy, I look forward to hearing the story…

  2. Abby says:

    Thanks for the forewarning. I was ready for the retina burn.

    I Love love love the idea of Anna Day! Perfect time of year for it too. time to designate Abby Day! Painting your own mugs has my own gears turning. I need access to a kiln.

Leave a Reply

