Things that are Green and Delightful

For as long as I can remember, green has always been my favourite colour – and it still is, even though I don’t wear it as much as I used to. I especially love the richer, darker greens; forest greens and bottle greens. The problem with this penchant, however, is that I’ve found it can be quite difficult to find yarn and fabric in nice shades of green – suppliers tend to opt more for the olive and aqua shades. Those are nice enough, and there are days when I’m actually quite partial to a nice olive green. I’ve found that these shades are also easier to mix with other colours. When you mix dark green with red, you run the distinct risk of looking like a Christmas elf. And I still can’t wear dark green and purple without being reminded of the ‘you look like Barney the Dinosaur’ comments I got in high school (yay high school). There’s also that rubbish about how ‘blue and green should never be seen’, but that’s a rule that I am more than happy to flaunt – and do on a regular basis. This is the point where, if I went in for lame jokes, I would make some crack about how it’s not easy being green, but I won’t (except that I just did. Whoops).

Still, even though nice greens can be few and far between, and slightly harder to coordinate with, I do love them very much. So I am very much looking forward to my Mythos cardigan being finished.

Apologies for the dodgy work-in-progress shot; I’m still yet to find a good way to photograph half-completed garments. But even in this poor excuse for a photo, you can still see that it’s a lovely colour. I can’t wait until this is done, and it won’t be long now – I’ve finished the second sleeve and am now working on the side. Hurrah! Now all I need is for the weather to warm up so that I can actually wear it without freezing, cold wimp that I am.

In other green news: nettles!

I went to the local farmers’ market with a friend yesterday, and we found nettles. I got excited and had to buy some, since I’ve been reading about them in cookbooks and food blogs for ages, but I’d never seen them for sale before (and it’s been years since they’ve grown in my garden). So last night’s dinner was fusilli pasta with nettles, garlic, lemon and ricotta. It was nice, but could have used an extra kick – next time I think sundried tomatoes are in order.

And now I’m off to the Botanical Gardens to knit with some lovely Ravelry people (I’m guessing that they won’t be green, but I’m willing to overlook this). And the sun just came out – life is good!

This entry was posted in colour, cooking, food, green, knitting, mythos, weather, work in progress. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Things that are Green and Delightful

  1. knitickyboo says:

    hahaha! I’ve only just started following your blog and then i opened it up to read the latest post and i’m like, I know that cardigan… I saw that cardigan today! I hadn’t put the blog and the face together yet!!
    Jen

Leave a Reply

